IndyCar: Facts about the 2014 Honda Indy Toronto

Here are some valuable and noteworthy information about the Honda Indy Toronto, Rounds 13 and 14 of the 2014 Verizon IndyCar Series.


TV: NBCSN telecasts both races live (3 p.m. ET July 19 and July 20) and qualifications (1:30 p.m. ET July 19). Bob Varsha is the chief announcer with analysts Paul Tracy and Townsend Bell. The Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires race will air at 6 p.m. (ET) July 20.

Radio/web: All Verizon IndyCar Series on-track sessions are broadcast on and the INDYCAR 14 app in conjunction with real-time Timing & Scoring. In addition, the races will be broadcast on IMS Radio Network affiliates, XM 209 and Sirius 213. Paul Page is the chief announcer. … Timing & Scoring for all Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires and USF2000 sessions also is on

Live practice streaming: Live streaming of the July 19 Verizon IndyCar Series practice sessions will be on, incorporating Timing & Scoring and the IMS Radio Network broadcast.

Qualifications: Three rounds of qualifying, including the Firestone Fast Six to determine the Verizon P1 Award, for Race 1. Entries divided into two groups for Round 1, with top six lap times in each group after 10 minutes of on-track running advancing to Round 2. Top six lap times after 10 minutes of on-track running in Round 2 advance to Firestone Fast Six. … For Race 2, all entries shall participate in one of two groups for 12 minutes each. The Verizon P1 Award will be awarded to the best overall lap time in the qualifying sessions.

Race laps: 85 in clockwise direction on the 1.7-mile, 11-turn street circuit as measured by INDCYAR Timing & Scoring. Both races carry full points.

Start: Standing start for Race 1 … two-wide rolling start for Race 2 … single-file restarts.

Tires: Firestone street course primary tires are being used at all 2014 street course events; no change to the tread compound from 2013. The alternate tire also has the same tread compound used in 2013 and is being used at all street course events.

Fuel: 51 U.S. gallons of E85 for practice/qualifications and 51 gallons each race … Verizon IndyCar Series cars carry 18.5 U.S. gallons.

Engines: 2.2-liter, twin-turbocharged V6s supplied by Chevrolet and Honda … … 150 kPa turbo boost for road/street course races; 160 kPa for push to pass (10 pushes for 15-second activation).

Of note: Luca Filippi will contest his second event of the season in the No. 16 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing entry and his first at Toronto. … The Toronto winner has gone on to claim the IndyCar Series championship in four of the past five years. … Nineteen drivers entered have competed at Toronto. Five are previous winners. … Chip Ganassi Racing has six wins. … Bourdais has finished in the top 10 in eight of his nine races at Toronto, including four podium finishes (second and third in 2013; third in ’06; victory in ‘04). … There have been six different winners in the eight road/street course races, representing five teams. There have been eight different winners in the 12 races overall. There have been nine different Verizon P1 Award winners. … The No. 12 Verizon Team Penske crew won the Firestone Pit Stop Performance Award at the Iowa Corn Indy 300 presented by DEKALB with a total pit lane time of 113.685 seconds. They’ll receive $10,000. … Dixon turns 34 on July 22. … This is the third and final doubleheader of the season. No one has swept either the Verizon P1 Awards or races at Detroit and Houston.

History: The doubleheader will be the 29th and 30th Indy car races on the streets of Exhibition Place since 1986 when Bobby Rahal won the CART-sanctioned event. Danny Sullivan was second and Mario Andretti completed the podium. Emerson Fittipaldi started from the pole. … Michael Andretti won the race seven times.

About AUTO123.COM - RSS