8 must knows about the Formula 1 Canadian Grand Prix

Here are 8 interesting details Formula 1 fans must know about the Canadian Grand Prix held this weekend in Montreal.

The first Canadian Grand Prix was held in 1967 at Mosport Park near Toronto, and was won by Jack Brabham, driving a Brabham-Repco.

F1 Jack Brabham

Jack Brabham, Brabham-Repco. (Photo: WRi2)

The Gilles Villeneuve circuit was the scene of Robert Kubica’s terrible and frightening crash in 2007 in his BMW Sauber.

Ferrari and McLaren have won the Canadian race 18 times each. The next best team is Williams with 7 wins.

The first race to be held in Montreal in October 1978 saw Gilles Villeneuve take the win – his first in Formula 1 – in his Ferrari 312 T3.

F1 Ferrari Gilles Villeneuve

Gilles Villeneuve, Ferrari 312 T3. (Photo: WRi2)

The winningest driver is Michael Schumacher with 7 wins, followed by Nelson Piquet and Lewis Hamilton with 3 victories each.

Five drivers have taken a debut win in Montreal: Gilles Villeneuve (1978), Thierry Boutsen (1989), Jean Alesi (1995), Lewis Hamilton (2007) and Robert Kubica (2008).

F1 Jean Alesi 1995

Jean Alesi in 1995. (Photo: WRi2)

In 2005, the Canadian Grand Prix was the third-most watched sporting event in the world with 51 million viewers, just behind the Super Bowl and the UEFA Champions League.

The 2011 Canadian Grand Prix was the longest-ever Formula 1 race in 4h04m39.54 because of a downpour. Jenson Button eventually won the race by beating Sebastian Vettel.

F1 McLaren 2011 Jenson Button

Jenson Button, McLaren, 2011. (Photo: WRi2)

About AUTO123.COM - RSS