IndyCar: Interesting numbers about the 2014 Indy 500 has published some fascinating numbers to note from the 98th Indianapolis 500 Mile Race, won by Ryan Hunter-Raey last Sunday.

Ryan Hunter-Reay is the first winner of the race from Florida. Overall, 21 states are represented among 49 drivers.

Indianapolis 500 victories for team owner Michael Andretti, who also won in 2005 (Dan Wheldon) and 2007 (Dario Franchitti).

Finishing position by rookie Kurt Busch, who was voted the Sunoco Rookie of the Year.

All seven rookies were on the lead lap and running at the finish.

Starting position for Hunter-Reay. The only other driver to win from the same starting position was Bill Vukovich in 1954.

Drivers on the lead lap at the finish for an event record.

Positions gained relative to his starting spot for rookie Sage Karam, who finished ninth.

It was the first time that car No. 28 won the race.

Lead changes among 11 drivers, including rookie Mikhail Aleshin.

Hunter-Reay led a field-high 56 laps after starting 19th. The last time a driver led the most laps of the race from a lower starting position was in 1975, when Wally Dallenbach led a race-high 96 laps after starting from the 21st position.

The winning average speed in miles per hour, the second-fastest in race history. The record was set by Tony Kanaan when he won the 2013 race at 187.433 mph.

Fastest race lap in miles per hour on Lap 182 by Juan Pablo Montoya, who also had the fastest lap by a leader at 223.858 mph.

Record number of laps completed by the 33 drivers. The record was 5,863 laps completed by the 33-car field in 2013.

Dollars earned by Hunter-Reay for his first Indianapolis 500 victory.

About AUTO123.COM - RSS