F1 Monaco: Nico Rosberg retakes championship lead from Lewis Hamilton (+results)

From press release

Mercedes’ Nico Rosberg took the lead in the Formula One drivers’ championship back from his teammate Lewis Hamilton, Sunday, with a win in Monaco.

It was the German’s second consecutive win in the Principality, and also his first since de the season-opener in Melbourne, last March. Rosberg, who lives in Monaco, therefore leads the championship by four points over Hamilton.

“It was a tough race out there today but I am absolutely delighted to have won my second Monaco Grand Prix in succession,” said the winner. “It’s an amazing feeling and I’m proud to have done it at home, in front of my family and friends who were all here this afternoon.

“It was important for me to break Lewis’ momentum of winning the last four races this weekend. That worked out very well, but it was a really tough weekend. I’m so happy for the team that we had another one-two finish and look forward to the party tonight!”

The race was also Mercedes’ fifth consecutive 1-2, despite Hamilton falling back in the last few laps with dirt in his eyes.

“I was following Nico as close as I could and had great pace but I just couldn’t get past,” commented the 2008 world champion.

“Towards the end, I got some dirt in my eye through the visor which made it very tough for a few laps but thankfully it cleared up and I was able to hold off Daniel (Ricciardo) and keep second place.

“This hasn’t been the greatest of weekends but I’ll go into the next race with even more energy and determination.”

Race results* - Monaco Grand Prix (round 6 of 19)
1 – Nico Rosberg (Mercedes W05) – 78 laps 1:49’27″661
2 – Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes W05) – 9″210
3 – Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull RB10-Renault) – 9″614
4 – Fernando Alonso (Ferrari F14-T) – 32″452
5 – Nico Hulkenberg (Force India VJM07-Mercedes) – 1 lap
6 – Jenson Button (McLaren MP4/29-Mercedes) – 1 lap
7 – Felipe Massa (Williams FW36-Mercedes) – 1 lap
8 – Romain Grosjean (Lotus E22-Renault) – 1 lap
9 – Jules Bianchi (Marussia MR03-Ferrari) – 1 lap
10 – Kevin Magnussen (McLaren MP4/29-Mercedes) – 1 lap
11 – Marcus Ericsson (Caterham CT05-Renault) – 1 lap
12 – Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari F14-T) – 1 lap
13 – Kamui Kobayashi (Caterham CT05-Renault) – 2 laps
15 – Max Chilton (Marussia MR03-Ferrari) – 3 laps

Fastest lap of the race: 1’18″479 by Kimi Raikkonen

Lap 59 – Esteban Gutierrez
Lap 55 – Valtteri Bottas
Lap 50 – Jean-Eric Vergne
Lap 23 – Adrian Sutil
Lap 10 – Daniil Kvyat
Lap 5 – Sebastian Vettel
Lap 1 – Pastor Maldonado
Lap 1 – Sergio Perez

Drivers’ championship
1.Rosberg 122 punti; 2.Hamilton 118; 3.Alonso 61; 4.Ricciardo 54; 5.Hulkenberg 47; 6.Vettel 45; 7.Bottas 34; 8.Button 31; 9.Magnussen 21; 10.Perez 20; 11.Massa 18; 12.Raikkonen 17; 13.Grosjean 8; 14.Vergne, Kvyat 4; 16Bianchi 2.

1.Mercedes 240; 2.Red Bull 99; 3.Ferrari 78; 4.Force India 67; 5.McLaren, Williams 52; 7.Toro Rosso, Lotus 8; 8. 9.Marussia 2.

*Unofficial results

About AUTO123.COM - RSS