Harry Poole Memorial 100 to Launch 2014 Pro Stock Tour Season

From press release

The Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour will open another season of stock car racing this Saturday, May 24 at Scotia Speedworld with the Harry Poole Memorial 100 presented by Lucas Oil.

The season opener will launch the 12-race schedule that will take the Tour to five Maritime markets over the next 17 weeks.

Approximately thirty of the best teams from across the region are expected to battle for a spot in Saturday’s main feature. Qualifying for the Harry Poole Memorial 100 presented by Lucas Oil gets underway at 3:10 pm with racing slated for 4:00 pm. Grandstands gates open at 1:00 pm.

Saturday’s season opener will be run in honour of Harry Poole, one of the original builders and owners of the Pro Stock Tour and Scotia Speedworld.

John Flemming (Halifax, NS) won the season opener last year en route to his fourth series championship (2002 ’03, ’06, ’13).

Two fellow multi-time series champions are also expected in the field on Saturday; Shawn Tucker, (Fredericton, NB) a three-time series champion, (2004, ’07, ’10) and Shawn Turple (Enfield, NS) who has won two of the Tour’s prestigious tiles (2010, ’12).

These veterans will have their hands full as an ambitious and talented field of drivers will be looking to take home the first checkered flag of the season.

Sarah McKay (Quispamsis, NB) will debut as the first female to pilot a car on the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour. When the green flag flies this Saturday, McKay will become the first lady of racing in the Maritimes. McKay has a solid track record, a standout in karts; McKay moved to the competitive Sportsman division at Speedway 660 in 2013 and won the Rookie of the Year Award in the class.

After competing at Speedway Miramichi and Petty Raceway to complement her Speedway 660 schedule and showing quick promise in a full bodied Late Model, the team made the call to run full-time on the Tour in 2014.

The Maritime League of Legends will kick off their 2014 campaign with a 50-lap feature prior to the Harry Poole Memorial 100 presented by Lucas Oil.

Admission for Saturday’s season opener is $25 for adults; $5 for youth; pit admission is $30. Children 7 and under are admitted for free. Tickets will be available at the gates on race day (Cash Only).

Sunday May 25th will launch the 2014 season for Scotia Speedworld’s Weekly Racing Series, racing starts at 2:00 pm on Sunday.

EXPECTED ENTRY LIST – Harry Poole Memorial 100 presented by Lucas Oil
No.0 – Shawn Turple – Enfield, NS
No.5 – Jonathan Hicken – Brudenell, PE
No.8 – Kent Vincent – Westmoreland, PE
No.11 – Marty Prevost – Fall River, NS
No.14 – Terry Dougay – Albany, PE
No.18 – Darren MacKinnon – Charlottetown, PE
No.20 – Greg Fahey – St. Stephen, NB
No.21 – Shawn Pierce – Bridgewater, NS
No.24 – Steve Ross – Waverly, NS
No.29 – Greg Proude – Springvale, PE
No.31 – Colby Smith – Cape Sable Island, NS
No.32 – Sarah McKay – Quispamsis, NB
No.37 – Cy Harvey – Elmsdale, NS
No.51 – Vance Hanes – Kennetcook, NS
No.52 – Shawn Tucker – Fredericton, NB
No.53 – Cole Butcher – Porter’s Lake, NS
No.66 – Daryl Mahar – Hubley, NS
No.67 – Dylan Blenkhorn – Truro, NS
No.72 – Brad Eddy – Lower Sackville, NS
No.87 – Matt Harris – Fredericton Junction, NB
No.88 – George Koszkulics – New Glasgow, NS
No.89 – Donald Chisholm – Antigonish, NS
No.91 – Dylan Gosbee – Cornwall, PE
No.97 – John Flemming – Halifax, NS
No.98 – Jerome Kehoe – Sydney, NS
No.99 – Craig Slaunwhite – Terence Bay, NS

*Entry list subject to change without notice

About AUTO123.COM - RSS