Humberstone Speedway honours champs at awards banquet

From Steven Petty

The New Humberstone Speedway honored their 2013 champions and their crews at the annual Night of Champions Awards Banquet at the Americana Resort in Niagara Falls, Ontario on Saturday evening.

The evening was honoring Erick Rudolph (DIRTcar Modifieds), Gary Lindberg (Cosco Haulage DIRTcar Sportsman), Rob Ledingham (Late Models), James Thompson (Street Stocks), Mike Toovey (Pro 4 Trucks), Kyle Pelrine (Mini Stocks) and Sam Iftody (Pure Stocks) and their crews on their achievements throughout the season. The band Steel City provided the entertainment for the evening.

The recipient of the Trevor Wilkens Driver of the Year Award went to Sportsman track champion Gary Lindberg. Jamie Turner won the Jim Simpson Crew Chief of the Year Award for his work on his son’s (Cory and Ryan) Street Stocks.

Jamie Journeaux was recognized for going Above and Beyond the Call of Duty as she was awarded with the ABCD Award. Jordan Cosco (Sportsman), Rob Pietz (Late Models), Mike Greene (Street Stocks), Kyle Rothwell (Mini Stocks) and Sam Pennacchio (Pro 4 Trucks) all received Rookie of the Year honors for 2013.

In the Cosco Haulage DIRTcar Sportsman, Greg Panunte won best appearing car. Brian Schmidt was the recipient of the hard luck award while Brad Rouse, winner of the Sportsman event at Super DIRT Week was the hard charger.

Travis Miller was named most improved while Jeff Armstrong received the Sportsmanship award. Gary Lindberg won on six occasions to clinch his first track championship. BJ Willard and Travis Miller both won on two occasions while 2012 Champion Cody McPherson and Austin Wood also visited victory lane.

In the DIRTcar Modifieds, 2013 titlist Erick Rudolph from Ransomville, NY won on four occasions to lock up the title. “The Natural” Dale Planck visited the speedway in 2013 with Mike Payne and came out victorious on three occasions. Mike Bowman also visited the winners circle this past season.

In the Peters Excavating Late Models, Tim Gillespie won best appearing car. Paul Grigsby won both the hard luck award and the hard charger. Rob Ledingham was named most improved and also picked up the sportsmanship award.Champ Rob Ledingham won twice on his way to the track title. Paul Grigsby won on three occasions in 2013. Zack Carley, Rick Miller, Jordan Peters (twice), Rob Pietz, and Darren Peters all saw victory lane as well.

In the JC Auto Street Stocks, Cory Turner won best appearing car. Mike Greene received the hard luck award. Lee Winger and his “Blue Moose Deuce” was the hard charger while James Thompson was named most improved, Cory and Ryan Turner won the Sportsmanship Award. 2013 Champion James Thompson, Lee Winger and Jason Fontaine all went to victory lane on four occasions. Billy Hogue, Ryan Turner and Kevin Knapp also took home a checkered flag this season.

In the Trackside Decals Mini Stocks, Kyle Pelrine won best appearing car. Leroy Buscumb received the hard luck award Evan Curtis was named most improved and the hard charger while Tyler Lafantaise received the sportsmanship award. Eight different drivers saw victory lane in 2013 including Evan Curtis (four), Kyle Rothwell (three), Brandon Iudiciani (twice), Tyler Lafantaisie (twice), Kyle Pelrine (twice), Dylan Sliter, Rocco Conte, and Leroy Buscumb

In Mike Knapp Ford Pro 4 Trucks, young Colton Ledingham won best appearing truck and named most improved in the division. Craig Vlasic was the recipient of the hard luck award while Sam Pennacchio was named the division’s hard charger. Veteran racer Andy Imbeault received the sportsmanship award. Nine different drivers saw victory lane in this competitive division throughout the 2013 season including Danny Wurster, Hilary Haegens, Greg Haegens, Taylor Vanderzanden, Craig Vlasic, Adam Nichols, Sam Pennacchio, Mike Toovey and Colton Ledingham.

In Frontier Auto Dismantlers Pure Stocks: won best appearing car. hard luck award, hard charger, most improved, sportsmanship. Sam Iftody drove away from the competition and with ten victories, locked up the title. Olivier Larocque won five times and Kyle Tomaski won twice.

Throughout the 2013 season, the New Humberstone Speedway saw many special events that raced on the racy 3/8th’s oval. Dan Ferguson and Josh Sliter each won when the TUSA Mr. Dirt Modified Lite Tour came to town. Rick Miller won the inaugural visit from the Go Nuclear Late Model Tour. Paul Kinney won the event for the Empire Super Sprints while Tim Zack and Rick St Pierre won the events for the vintage cars. Warren Mahoney won the event for the Ontario Topless Sprints Cars.

The Cosco and Davidson families would like to thank all of the drivers, crews, officials, sponsors and fans for their support throughout the 2013 season and hope that everyone has a safe and joyous holiday season. Look for the 2014 schedule and all updates to be released in the coming weeks.

The New Humberstone Speedway would like to thank all the new and returning Weekly Series Sponsors: Cosco Haulage (DIRTcar Sportsman), Peters Excavating (UMP/DIRTcar Pro Late Models), J.C. Auto (Street Stocks), Mike Knapp Ford (Pro 4 Trucks), Trackside Decals (Mini Stocks) and Frontier Auto Dismantlers (Pure Stocks).

About AUTO123.COM - RSS